Academics of third at SUSOM

I’m about a fourth of the way through the daunting third semester at SUSOM; the course load is fairly staggering – I’m learning about neuroscience and neuroanatomy, psychology, immunology, microbiology, bioethics, and doctor-patient relationship. We’re in class from 8a to 4:30p on a good day. After that I head home and try to review as much as I can.

As far as I can tell, the key is really to keep up with everything. This isn’t a revelation, but a simple statement that is hard to abide by. Mostly, I’m just mentally drained, but I know if I don’t eat my pancakes I will be faced with a larger stack the day after.

So far, most of what we’re learning has been fascinating, and I really feel like this is the semester I’m going to really have a large swathe of medical knowledge that is applicable.

The end to this process of sitting and simply stuffing facts in my head is nearly halfway done, and for that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

